Aberaeron, a charming Regency Town .
Aberaeron, just seven miles from New Quay is a charming regency town, and with
its multi coloured houses, attractive harbour, Hotels, B&B and self-catering
Holiday Cottages it has much to offer the visitor. Centrally located on Cardigan
Bay, Aberaeron is close to Aberystwyth and Cardigan towns, while Lampeter and
Tregaron are a short drive inland through the beautiful Aeron Valley, much loved
by the poet Dylan Thomas who lived locally for a while.
At the mouth of the Aeron River, Aberaeron has been
built on a level area between the mountains and the sea formed
during the last ice-age 10,000 years ago. It was the site in the
12th century of a medieval fort described by Samuel Lewis in 1833 as
"On the sea-shore, near the village, is a circular encampment,
designated Castell Cadwgan, and supposed to have been constructed by
Cadwgan ab Bleddyn, about 1148."
Aberaeron is a rare example of a town in Wales that was planned from the outset. The town as we know it today began in 1807 when the Rev Alban Thomas-Jones Gwynne obtained a private Act of Parliament to rebuild the harbour. Subsequently the town was planned in the regency style around a large open square - named Alban Square
In the nineteenth century Aberaeron was a thriving port. Samuel Lewis writes
in 1833: 'The port is......in a thriving state. There are from thirty to forty
sloops belonging to it, of from seventeen to one hundred tons' burthen, which
are navigated by about 120 seamen: they are chiefly employed in the importation
of coal and culm, and two of them trade regularly with Bristol. The principal
articles of importation, in addition, are grocery and timber; and of
exportation, butter and oats: there is also a lucrative herring fishery, in
which about thirty boats, with seven men to each, are engaged.'
Each year in August, Aberaeron holds the The Aberaeron Festival of Welsh Cobs
and Ponies. Nearby Llanarth produced many famous Welsh cobs, including Llanarth
Meteor, Llanarth Rhys and Llanarth Comet. Now the stud has closed, descendants
of these ponies are found worldwide. In 2005, a life-size bronze statue of a
Welsh Cob was donated to the town by the Aberaeron Festival of Welsh Cobs and
Ponies to denote the area as 'Welsh Cob Country'.
The Aberaeron Town Trail was established in 2007 during the bicentennial celebrations - 200 years since the Act of Parliament to create the new harbour. Twenty two notable locations within the town were chosen, and each was given a commemorative bronze plaque in the shape of the 'Aberaeron shovel' a shovel produced in the forge of the Davies family from the 1850s until the 1930s. Click here to visit our 'Town Trail' page.